Wardlaw, Paul

Wardlaw, Paul.jpg



Athletic Director
Tennis Director

College of Wooster, BA
University of Illinois, Chicago, MA

I grew up in Atlanta, moved to Chicago my senior year in high school and attended the College of Wooster in Ohio, majoring in philosophy while also competing for the Fighting Scots in soccer and tennis. Graduate school in philosophy followed at the University of Illinois. For the next thirty-three years I coached college soccer and tennis - four years at Benedictine University, eight years at Kenyon College, seven years at the University of Iowa and fourteen years at Brown University. I was a summer resident in the Dublin area during my time at Brown. My wife Katy and I have two daughters who are now out and about in the world.

What teacher has had the greatest impact on you? Why were they special? I've had a number of excellent teachers but Fred Korn stands out. Fred introduced me to philosophy as a college freshman. All class work was done in a journal which he reviewed in one-on-one meetings, usually in the college snack bar. Fred had tremendous patience and insight into our struggles with the material. He likened my approach to philosophy as "three yards and a cloud of dust" - no long passes, just grinding it out on the ground like an Ohio State football offense. Fred's passion for philosophy, willingness to spend time with each student, and friendly nature made philosophy a welcoming major. His passion was contagious!

How would your friends describe you in three words? Positive, genuine and creative.

What is your favorite course you have taken in high school or college? The tie goes to a course on Wittgenstein's Philosophical Investigations and a course on Kierkegaard. I still use material from both classes in my coaching and teaching.

What is your favorite place on campus and why? I have traveled the country playing tennis and have not seen a more picturesque set of tennis courts. The view is spectacular (and distracting).

I am most happy when... I'm laughing with family and friends, riding my bike, and hiking to a few of my favorite Monadnock views to take in the countryside. Connecting with nature is the ultimate reset button.

Ortiz, Nicolas

Ortiz, Nicolas.jpg

Universidad de la Frontera

I was born and raised in Temuco, Chile. Temuco is a medium-sized city in the Patagonia region in southern Chile. I moved to the US eleven years ago and lived in Arlington, MA with my wife, Megan, and our two daughters, Juliette and Zoe. I taught AP Spanish Language and AP Spanish Literature at the MATCH charter high school in Boston, MA for ten years. I am very excited to join the team at Dublin to teach Spanish, coach soccer and lead the new Patagonia exchange program. It is very exciting to share my culture and country with Dublin students and facilitate the relationship with our partner schools in Patagonia.

What book has made you think the most? I read the Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao last year and it made me think in a new way about the immigrant experience in the US and how the trauma and history of the Trujillo dictatorship in the Dominican Republic impacted their lives generations after leaving the island. Chile has a similar history with a dictator and oppression and it was interesting to think about it from a new perspective.

What teacher has had the greatest impact on you? Why were they special? I attended a Montessori school in Chile for K-12. It was a small school, a little like Dublin, and I loved it. My favorite teacher was my Biology teacher, Vivian Hassen. She taught me how to be a better student, how to challenge myself and helped me really love learning and school.

How would your friends describe you in three words? funny, happy, grillmaster

What is your favorite course you have taken in high school or college? Anthropology

What is your favorite place on campus and why? I'm just getting to know the campus. I have always wanted to live on a lake and I think the boat house is my favorite spot so far. There is just something about sitting at the water's edge that is so relaxing and peaceful.

I am most happy when... eating delicious food, preferably roast lamb, with my family and friends.

What mistake have you made that ended up leading to a positive outcome? When I entered university after school I thought I wanted to be an engineer and studied engineering for two very long challenging years. I realized I wanted to work with people and not machines and had to start over towards a new degree. I think I gained very valuable life experience and learned many skills about how things work and how to fix things and solve problems even though I did not end up becoming an engineer.

If I had a free afternoon I would... go fishing with friends

What is your favorite outdoor activity? I love fishing, going to the beach and playing soccer.