Allbee, Andrea

Allbee, Andrea.jpg

email

603-563-1224

Controller

BA - Castleton State College
M.A. in Criminology - Indiana University of Pennsylvania
MBA - Union College

As a native Vermonter, I grew up in Brattleboro, VT. Being the daughter of Law Enforcement Officer, I wanted to be in the FBI, which explains the degree in Criminology. After discovering that the FBI would require me to live in a major city outside of New England, I moved onto Plan B. Plan B was accounting. After focusing on public accounting for the first part of my career, I decided that I wanted to work in an environment where individuals never stop learning, so I decided to specialize in accounting for educational institutions. I live in Vermont with my husband, dogs, cat, and horse. I enjoy hiking, biking, and following my equestrian pursuits.

What book has made you think the most? How Stella Saved the Farm by Vijay Govindarajan and Chris Trimble. A simple book to read that can have a big impact on the mindset of a team/organization's mindset and ability to be innovative.

How would your friends describe you in three words? Generous, Trustworthy, and Enthusiastic

What is your favorite course you have taken in high school or college? History of Medieval Europe (or any History course) - I love history, but in particular I love studying this time period. In high school and in college, I could not take enough courses on this topic. I had terrific professors that brought history alive.

I am most happy when... I am riding my horse, Nitro. There is a wonderful peace you feel when you are at one with a horse and have developed a trusted partnership to the point where you can think about a movement and the horse does the movement.

What mistake have you made that ended up leading to a positive outcome? When I purchased my horse, Nitro, he was too young and green (untrained) for my knowledge and riding level. We made a lot of mistakes in the early years, and I had some bad accidents. Twelve and a half years later, I am glad I stuck with this horse and didn't listen to the advice of selling him. He is my "heart horse" and we have a great partnership. Sometimes the difficult horses are the ones you learn the most from and I have learned a great deal. I wouldn't be the rider, or person, I am today without him in my life and the struggles I have had with him.

If I had a free afternoon I would... I would spend the day at the barn where I board my horse. I would ride my horse and then go and find work to do, cleaning pastures or something until it's time to bring in horses. Riding and working at the barn is very therapeutic for me, especially in the summer when we get to unload the bales of hay for the next year.